Since 2009, members and pension holders of the United Church of Canada have expressed concerns about investment in Goldcorp Inc., one of Canada's largest mining companies with a history of committing serious human rights violations. Despite a motion passed by 78% of the UCC, the pension board refuses to divest. Instead, they prefer management engagement with the company, a widely critiqued strategy that has left affected communities out of the conversation. Read more here. 

 

 

(Find your time zone here)

 

In the 90 minute webinar, you will:

 
- hear from Mining the Connections, the group that spearheaded the divestment campaign
- better understand how and why pension boards can disregard the voice and will of the people they represent
- consider actions to make the structures that govern investments more accountable. 

- learn about other actions to make the Canadian extractive sector more accountable including participation in the Canadian Network on Corporate Accountability Open for Justice campaign.

The webinar will take place on Wednesday, February 22 

10am Pacific

11am Mountain

12pm Central

1pm Eastern 

2pm Atlantic

2:30pm Newfoundland & Labrador

Register Now!

©United for Mining Justice.   

  • Blogger - Black Circle
  • facebook-square
  • Google Square